Press Release: Call for Tłı̨chǫ Government Awards Nominations

February 5, 2015
For Immediate Release

Behchokǫ̀, NT - 2015 is the year of Kw’ahtidè Zephirin Mǫnfwi.   In celebration of the 10th Anniversary, the Tłı̨chǫ Government recognizes 2015 is the year of Kw’ahtidè Zephirin Mǫnfwi. Celebrating the accomplishments of of Kw’ahtidè Zephirin Mǫnfwi’s remarkable life in preserving and enhancing the Tłı̨chǫ Way of Life. 

Monfwi signed Treaty 11 with the Government of Canada on August 22, 1921, on behalf of all the Tłı̨chǫ people at a ceremony in Behchokǫ̀.  At the time of signing, Chief Monfwi pronounced the words that guide us to this day:

“As long as the sun will rise, as long as the rivers will flow, if the land is not moved, we cannot be limited from our way of life".

On February 5, 2015 the Tłı̨chǫ Government launched the new Tłı̨chǫ Government Awards, and call for nominations. 

Tłı̨chǫ Government Awards recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of remarkable individuals/companies/organizations to protecting, preserving and enhancing the Tłı̨chǫ Way of Life.

This is the highest form of recognition Awards of the Tłı̨chǫ Government, which will be presented in Behchokǫ̀, on August 6th, 2015 on the 10th Anniversary of the Tłı̨chǫ Government.

Nominations will be accepted in the following award categories:

  1. Arts
  2. Business & Commerce, Environment & Natural
  3. Culture, Heritage & Spirituality
  4. Education & Health
  5. Lifetime Achievement
  6. Public Service, Politics, Law & Justice
  7. Sports
  8. Youth

The deadline for nominations is March 31, 2015. 

Further information and nomination forms are available at all Tłı̨chǫ Government offices and at

For more information, contact: 
Henry Zoe 
Senior Community Director 
Tłı̨chǫ Ndek'àowo / Tłı̨chǫ Government 
Phone: (867) 766-4003

Related News