Annual Tłı̨chǫ Youth Conference held in Whatì

The Community Wellness Programs Department and the Community Action Research Team (C.A.R.T) held its Annual Tłı̨chǫ Youth Conference from January 26-29, 2018 in Whatì, Northwest Territories. Over 80 youth participants attended the conference from Behchokǫ̀, Whatì, Gamètì, and Wekweètì including well as Tłı̨chǫ descendants living in Yellowknife.

This year’s conference theme was “Empowering our Future Tłı̨chǫ Leaders”, fostering tools our youth need to overcome challenges they face and to embrace who they are.

Conferences gives the youth, a voice to speak about challenges they face in their community.  We create a community of youth from around the region who come together to work through their challenges together.

Conference elders and facilitators with an amazing wide-range of knowledge spoke about Youth Empowerment, motivations, mental illness, drugs & alcohol abuse, entrepreneurships, leadership and Lessons.

Tłı̨chǫ Grand Chief George Mackenzie and Wekweètì Chief Charlie Football spoke on the importance of “Leadership” in a community and regional setting.  Closing remarks were provided by Whatì Chief Alfonz, elder Charlie Jim Nitsiza and elder Joseph Judas.

We would like to thank the following:

The Canadian Arms Force, Northern Youth Abroad, Student on Ice and Aurora College programming for speaking to the Youths.  Career booths by Artic Energy Alliance, Community Health Representative (CHR) and Aurora College.

Transportation and accommodations were provided by the Community Government of Whatì, the Mezi Community School, the Lac La Martre Development Corporation and Tlicho Air. We utilized the Culture Centre, Youth Centre and the Tłı̨chǫ Government office of Whatì to help with our conference.

Special thank you to our facilitators and Elders.


  • Andre Bear Couillonnear
  • Tanis Niditchie
  • Chelsie Young
  • Heather Dickson
  • Stephanie Rabesca
  • James Simon
  • Jamie Stevenson
  • Mercedes Rabesca
  • Kira Zanyk-Davey


  • Charlie Jim Nitsiza
  • Mary Adele Wetrade
  • Mary Adele Rabesca
  • Michel Louie Rabesca
  • Jimmy B. Rabesca
  • Eddie Erasmus
  • Joseph Judas
  • Charlie Jeremickca
  • Noella Kodzin    
  • Jimmy Nitsiza
  • Margaret Nitsiza


For more information contact:

Anita Daniels
Director of Community Programs
Tłı̨chǫ Ndek'àowo / Tłı̨chǫ Government
Box 412, Behchokǫ̀, NT  X0E 0Y0
Phone:  867-392-6381 Ext 1325

Related News