GNWT Extends Public Health Emergency and State of Emergency

The territory-wide Public Health Emergency and State of Emergency have been extended in the Northwest Territories (NWT). Both extensions will take effect as of June 24, 2020 and expire on July 08, 2020.

The Government of the Northwest Territories is reminding everyone that travel within the NWT is restricted with limited exceptions. Everyone entering the NWT is still required to self-isolate for 14 days in Yellowknife, Inuvik, Hay River or Fort Smith before travelling to their home community – with few exceptions. .

All residents are reminded to follow the orders and advice from the Chief Public Health Officer as we proceed in Phase 2 of the Emerging Wisely plan.

Any person who has any questions or inquiries can contact Protect NWT at or 1-833-378-8297 or visit website at:

Related News